Strangest Tribe's Board @ www.pearljamonline.it

Intervista Eddie e l'ukulele

« Older   Newer »
wave78
view post Posted on 11/5/2011, 10:59

http://leisureblogs.chicagotribune.com/tur...-pearl-jam.html

May 10, 2011
Eddie Vedder's ukulele holiday from Pearl Jam
Pearl Jam is celebrating its 20th anniversary this year with a flourish: a Cameron Crowe-directed documentary; reissues of its 1993 and ’94 albums “Vs.” and “Vitalogy”; and a forthcoming festival at an as-yet-unannounced location.
In addition, the band is in the midst of recording sessions for a new studio album, and some members are still neck-deep in side projects – at least one involving a ukulele, of all things. That would belong to singer Eddie Vedder, whose “Ukulele Songs” solo album is due out May 31. A solo tour brings him to the Chicago Theatre on June 28-29.
"I’ve been writing and collecting songs on the ukulele for at least 10 years, so it was time to clear them out of the apartment building and make room for some new occupants,” Vedder says. “I need to make room for the bassoon record.”
It’s a busy time for a band that defined the alternative-rock era with its introspective lyrics and heavy guitars (call them “grunge” if you must), then nearly imploded after taking a firm stand against what it felt were excessive Ticketmaster service fees in 1994. In recent years, as sales of recorded music have plummeted and concert ticket prices have soared, the band has left major-label affiliations behind in favor of independent releases on its Monkeywrench Records label while continuing to attract arena-sized audiences around the world.
In an interview, Vedder talked about his love for the most un-rock ‘n’ roll of instruments and how Pearl Jam is navigating the new landscape of an economically challenged music industry.

Q: How did you start playing the ukulele?